Holy Hives Batman!! Some remedies that have helped me!

These past few weeks I’ve had a bunch of crazy symptoms flare up in my big ol’ face.
I think part of it has to do with the fact that I’ve been so stressed! We all know that stress is not good because it increases the cortisol levels within the body. So when your cortisol is high, you’re immune system starts to malfunction, heart rate goes up and all sorts of other treats decide to happen. So please, if you read this, find a moment in the day to relax somehow. Stretch, do a little exercise (if you can), read, pray, go to the park and be in nature..whatever. A moment to relax and unwind is better than none. 🙂

So one of my main complaints recently has been something called dermatographism ucticaria, also known as “skin writing”. I like to call it hives on steroids because in my opinion that’s what it is! It’s a nasty lil sucker! And holy crap is it ever irritating (pun intended).
A lot of times the causes of different types of hives can be unknown, sometimes there can be an allergy trigger, or a viral or baterial infection in the body or an underlying auto immune condition and the skin reacts to this. Because I have lyme disease I’ve done some research and have found that while herxing, a lot of times the ‘bugs’ like to exit through the skin. With herxing all the toxins and chemicals get released throughout the body, so it’s no wonder why the skin would immediately become irritated. I’ve had this issue of dermatographism for 10+ years, but for the most part it comes and goes in waves. Usually it lasts weeks, or months for me and disappears. Ever since I’ve started treatment, I’ve had more skin issues. More rashes, more hives. But these past few weeks my ‘dermatographism uticaria‘ has come back full blast. So, what I’m trying to do is help my immune system get up and running by taking some vitamins in the hopes that my body can relax a bit and the swelling will go down.

Image
Remedies:

1. Cut out coffee. This is hard for me, because I love coffee. But lets be honest, coffee isn’t the greatest for us. It still is a drug and the high amounts of caffeine have been shown to have negative effects on blood pressure and the brain, so if you’re blood pressure is already high or if you’re having arythmias cut it out of your diet, even if it’s for a little while because caffeine can exaggerate those problems.
Instead drink lots of water and tea to help eliminate toxins from the body. I reccomend Ginsing tea. I buy mine from Vitamin World.
The more toxins you can remove the greater the chance of your hives going down- if your cause of hives is due to toxicity, or bacterial infections.
**Note: Caffeine also dehydrates you, so drink as much water as you possibly can!

2. Antihistamines!
Oh my lawwwd, I love me some anti-histamines. Some anti-histamines contain different ingredients, so find out which one works for you. The one I’m currently taking contains diphenhydramine hydrochloride USP. It has been so helpful.

3. Gold Bond cream. This was a suggestion I tried from some friends on facebook. I wasn’t sure if it would help my hives,
but to my amazement it did! I also tried the powder, which I didn’t find as effective, but the lotion stopped the irritation almost immediately. It WERKED.

4. Aloe Vera Gel has helped me in the past. I keep my bottle in the fridge and put it on my hives while it’s cold! EEE!
Aloe Vera is very soothing on the skin, and is great for irritation.

5. Find the cause.
If you can find what’s causing your irritation, then you can find ways to prevent outbreaks.
Ask your doctor for allergy tests. If you’re hives aren’t going away and you also notice jaundice, flank pain, with an onset of other symptoms it may be a good idea to make sure your liver is still in tip top shape.
If you think this may be the culprit you can buy liver detox teas, drink more green smoothies and change your diet to help your liver be able to eliminate toxins and do it’s job! I also like to take detox baths with a mixture of hydrogen peroxide, ginger, and epsom salts.
You can also do the same with essential oils and epsom salts, some even use apple cider vinegar.

I hope this has been helpful for some of you!
Do you guys have any remedies that helped with your hives?
Share your tips with a comment below!

Much love,
xoxo.

3 thoughts on “Holy Hives Batman!! Some remedies that have helped me!

  1. Hi Angela, we haven’t met yet, but I know Lindsey’s family. I have been very ill for 2 years and just recently got tested for lyme and mold. I have almost all of your symptoms and I’ve been complaining the last few months that I get hives everytime my dog touches me. I have never been allergic to animals in my life! Crazy! Do you have an email address that I could message you to find out a bit more about your treatment? I’d just like to know what to expect. Thanks, Carla cargrin02@yahoo.com

  2. Hello Angela,
    I too have many of the same symptoms and others that could indicate lyme, and I tested negative for lupus. My primary care gave me a lyme screening that was negative but I looked it up and it said it produces a lot of false negatives, especially in late stage lyme (which I believe I could be). I remember a weird rash and ticks in 2012. I too am interested in hearing more about both your diagnosis (what doctor/ tests given) and your treatment. I found your blog when searching images for my strange line-like hives, and mine look EXACTLY like this picture of yours. I’ve been allergy tested for everything under the sun and nothing there. My hives are sometimes regular bumps or flat red, usually itch but sometimes don’t. And I often get scratch mark looking ones on my back where I can not even reach to be scratching myself. And I get these same raised line-like ones that are in your pic here. While they will come up if I scratch around the area, they are not initiated solely by contact. They also pop up all on their own on skin not in contact with anything. So I wonder if the bacteria could be the cause and other things just triggers. My email is pedwards123@hotmail.com. Please let me know what tests ended up diagnosing you with lyme. I would much appreciate. Thank you!
    Pam

Leave a Reply

