What a day!

Today has been a bad day! Gong show! To be continued…

20131111-000450.jpg So,  I am writing this post, AFTER, coming home from the hospital. Yikes. I was there for 2 nights and 3 days.
I am not going to say much, except for the fact that I think I had the worst ER hospital visit in my entire life. I won’t go into much detail about it on here because I just might turn into this guy….
rambo
And “aint nobody got time fo dat”!
But anyways I went to the hospital because I messed up my back. It’s been bugging me for a while, and I’ve been trying to take it easy but life threw lemons in my face and I couldn’t dodge them.
I fell down the stairs….(classy right?) at my house. It was raining so the outdoor steps were oober slippery and I lost my footing and…*lug lug lug lug lug I landed on my back and neck which was painful, but I think I only strained a muscle at that time. So I was glad I didn’t do any intense damage to my back that was already feeling aggrivated. Until a few days later…I bent down to pick something up, sneezed, and threw out my back. Holy crap in a bucket, I kid you not it was one of the most painful experiences of my life. One of my biggest fears was slipping a disc or having a herniated disc again because I’ve had one before and I never wanted to experience that pain again. I couldn’t walk, and my sister managed to help me get in a wheelchair, which was a gong show. Once I was in the chair I tried to stand but my back would buckle and I would burst out into tears from the agonizing pain. Sooooo, long story short, I ended up in the ER. I never got a CT scan, or MRI. In fact, the doctors never ended up telling me what happened to my back, even though I mentioned that I’ve had other problems with my spine (especially a herniated disc in my L5-S1 area) and how I recognized the pain from last time, still, nothing. Long story short, it took me 3 days to be able to sit up. (And I was on TORADOL, MORPHINE, NAPROXEN and other meds at this time and moving STILL hurt like a crazy person).

So because no one would diagnose me then, I have to play doctor for myself now.
My midback was inn shooting pain right in the middle of my spine and this pain also radiated down to my lower back. My legs were numb, and at one point my right thy to my knee was in pain. I knew I probably had something going on with a disc that was hitting a nerve.. So, maybe a week later now I’m still in pain, but I have muscle relaxants and T3’S which have been a life saver. I can walk again, but just have to be careful when I’m bending or twisting.

I know I’ve written about this before from a LYME perspective, and I think it’s important to mention this again. Before I was diagnosed with lyme, I never had any major issues with my back. A year ago I threw my back out only to find out I had a herniated disc in my lower back. (Thankfully I had an MRI at that time for other reasons). But I’ve done lots of research, and lyme disease loves to cause all sorts of nastiness when it comes to joints and connective tissue. And because the lyme disease bacteria loves to attack connective tissue in the spine it can often lead to ruptures, and herniated slips etc. Knee blowouts, etc.
Also, lyme loves to attack joints. When lyme was first discovered it was actually called lyme arthritis because everyone that was affected was having arthritic symptoms and major noticeable swelling in their joints in Lyme Conneticut.

OH. I should also mention that I had a flare in the hospital (unrelated to my back issues), and was jerking like a mad person. So I told one of the nurses that I have lyme disease and was just going through a flare and that it would go away and she responded with, “Oh no no no, lyme disease doesn’t do this”.
If I would have responded with how I really felt after her dismissing me I would simply say…-insert Rambo here-.

I’ll post some more studies about the connection between borrelia burgdorferi and joint problems soon! I have no energy so I am going to go back to bed!
Much love and hugs!
🙂

Leave a Reply

