Better and Worse.

So it’s been about a month into treatment for lyme (as well as babesia and bartonella) and I do have to say that I notice a lot of changes. Some good, and some bad!
The first few weeks were horrible symptom wise, but now I notice that certain symptoms have decreased dramatically, while others have increased.
Image
A lot of my neurological symptoms were severe. I was having seizures, tremors, cognitive problems (including speech), brain fog, muscle weakness, numbness & tingling and the list goes on.
On the first few weeks of treatment I still had seizures here and there, but the past week I can honestly say that I don’t think I had one single seizure. So that is a VERY good thing. I’m pumped about that as is my doctor so that’s great. It seems like a lot of my neurological symptoms are not as severe as they used to be like the jerking, tremors, muscle weakness (they’re not completely gone though), but honestly, it’s improvement so I’m thrilled. But, on the negative side of things, my psychiatric symptoms are so much worse. I have major anxiety, depression, and suicical ‘urges’ that are becoming constant and frightening. I notice I’m getting major anxiety about things that I shouldn’t, or wouldn’t normally get worked up over. I feel like a ticking time bomb ready to explode. There are times when I try to sleep just so that the thoughts go away. I have them all the time. I may not seem like I am depressed. Because I’m still social to a degree, I still smile, and I still laugh at jokes. So I’m not totally gone but If you knew what my thoughts were like-especially when I’m on my cyst buster I’m sure everyone would run for the hills. And I think I’m starting to push people away, because of this reason. I feel to fragile and vulnurable right now, so I don’t know if dating/or close friendships are a good idea for me. I have so much more  I want to say but I won’t. Because I think it’s the meds talking.  I hate what these meds and this disease are doing to my mind. I am slowly going crazy. I can’t wait until this is all over.

Anyways, moving on. I saw my doc today and he found out that I am low in Gamma-glutamyl transpeptidase , which he said may indicate a magnesium deficiency. So with that said, I’m going to start taking some magnesium pills which should also help me with my anxiety, and insomnia as well. (Praise the Lort! Hallelujer!) So that’s encouraging.

Now onto endometriosis. It has been getting super bad. Yesterday I forgot how painful it is to be on my menses. I haven’t cried from physical pain in a long time. I’m used to pain, so I’m like a ninja and can tolerate a lot of physical pain….except for yesterday. The stabbing pelvic/back pain and nausea was destroying me. I took some T3’s which helped a bit with the pain, but not the nausea. So anyways, my doctor is giving me progesterone pills for the moment (soon to be cream) to see if that helps with anything. I am debating having another laproscopic surgery because I hate having to take birth control pills all the time (because I’m already on a crap load of stuff because of the lyme disease yuck and am VERY forgetful!) So I’m trying to figure out what I should do next if progesterone doesn’t help. Not sure if I should go back on the pill, or what? Surgery seems great, because it means many many many months of no pain. The only problem is, the pain can come back. So I wonder if it’s entirely worth it.

Cheers to the fight.
Ang
xoxo

Gamma-glutamyl transpeptidase:
Gamma-glutamyltransferase or gamma-glutamyl transpeptidase (also γ-glutamyltransferase, GGT, GGTP, gamma-GT) (EC 2.3.2.2) is an enzyme that transfers gamma-glutamyl functional groups. It is found in many tissues, the most notable one being the liver, and has significance in medicine as a diagnostic marker.
(thanks wiki)

Laproscopic surgery (cautery ablation):
The medical practice or technique of cauterization is the burning of part of a body to remove or close off a part of it in a process called cautery, which destroys some tissue, in an attempt to mitigate damage, remove an undesired growth, or minimize other potential medical harmful possibilities such as infections, when antibiotics are not available. In my case, the cauterization would be used to burn off my endo lesions/growths inside my uterus. FUN!

Leave a Reply

