March is Endometriosis Awareness Month!

This post is here as a reminder for all of yall’ to get your yellow clothing out of the closet and sport them everyday for the month of march. All I gotta say is, “You bettta WERK!”, cue music. Rupal anyone? No?
Anyway, If you don’t have yellow clothing, you can sport yellow ribbons to raise awareness for Endometriosis. A lot of people still don’t know about this disease even though celebs like Whoppi Goldberg, Susan Sarandon & Julianne Hough have been trying to raise awareness on this painful issue.
But hoooold the bus, what is endo, you might ask?
Endometriosis: Introduction <- Click the link to find out more info.

-Endometriosis is a painful disease that has no cure.
-1 in 10 women have endometriosis.
-About 30 percent to 40 percent of women with endometriosis are infertile, making it one of the top three causes for female infertility.
-It can take YEARS before a women gets diagnosed with endometriosis.

I was officially diagnosed with Endo last year in 2012. I had a laproscopic surgery to confirm the diagnosis, and also cautery ablate the lesions they found behind my uterus. I always knew there was something wrong with me during the most wonderful time of the month because I would miss days of school from being so ill. I would be curled up in the fetal position, vomiting, sweating, and waiting to pass out due to the immense pain I felt. I remember taking narcotics to cope with the pain, but often I would just throw them up. My stomach, to this day, has burn marks on it from using heating pads to alleviate the pain over several years. At the time though, when I was younger, several doctors said I was okay, just had bad cramps and was forced to move on thinking this amount of physical pain was normal.
Now I’m realizing it wasn’t, not at all. Because after my surgery, I was pain free for 5 months or so. It was such a weird feeling to expect pain, and instead have it be absent.
Many women, go through what I went through and still don’t have a diagnosis. Because society says, suck it up, if you have any pain around that “time of the month”, take it like a woman, get off your butt and stop complaining. All women go through it. Wrong! Pain is not normal. Pain that prevents you from working or going to school because you’re unable to move and function needs to be looked it.

Surgery to remove my endo lesions! July 2012

endo

P.S This is a sidenote, but I wonder if that woman in the bible who had issues with blood had endometriosis or fibroids? Just a thought.

Keep on fighting.
Love yall and wishing you pain free days!
Ang

Leave a Reply

