I am optimistic and it feels great.

I saw my doctor yesterday, and we had a little catch up session. I originally wanted to see him to get some anti nausea/vomiting meds because this week I have been dealing with lots of nausea….and I have been having trouble eating, because my body just decided, “hey I’m going to throw everything up and spice up Angies life a little bit”. Lame. Anyways, during our meeting my doctor said that one of the tests came back from the rhumatologist and my iron levels are low. My doc asked me if I take iron supplements, and I said yes. And fyi, the only reason I am taking iron pills is because I suspected I might be low, because of always feeling fatigued and light headed, so, because of the nerd I am, I bought Iron supplements months ago and now I find out I was actually onto something. Yay! It’s funny too because my friend stephanie brought over a veggie platter and I DEVOURED the broccoli on that tray. You have no idea. Apparently craving broccoli can also be a sign of low iron. Definitely didn’t know this at the time I was going all “hulk” on her broccoli, but now it makes sense.
I know that I have been loosing ‘extra’ blood, because um, lets just say, I’ve seen it. Forrest Gump would be happy to exclaim,”And that’s all I have to say about that”.
I also know that having certain gyno issues like fibroids, PCOS and endometriosis can cause “heavier bleeding” than normal, during that time of the month. But to be honest. From what my friends complain about, I don’t bleed at all like they do and yet I have a gynecological disease? Go figure. I just suffer from all the other lovely symptoms of Endometriosis.

It’s also strange, because I think I’ve been tested for this before (anemia:low red blood cells) and I think my results came back fine every time. Until a few weeks ago, when my results came in and showed I was low. I am just so stinking happy because FINALLY a test showed that something is wonky. Now I’m just wondering what is causing all this blood loss, or if my body cannot digest iron properly? (Chrons/Celiac disease?) Like I’ve said earlier though, I’ve seen some extra blood here and there whether I’ve coughed it up, vomited up a bit or wiped it off….somethings. So, I’m just glad it’s finally showing up in tests. *sigh of relief*. Praise The Lord.

Anyways, after doing research, I found out that the symptoms of Iron Deficiency Anemia usually appear before it shows up in tests. Also, if you have inflammation, your tests may come back normal even if you are anemic. Trippy hey? Anyways, I had every symptom. Not kidding.
Here they are:
anemia

  • Anxiety often resulting in OCD-type compulsions and obsessions
  • Irritability or a low feeling
  • Angina
  • Constipation
  • Sleepiness
  • Tinnitus
  • Mouth ulcers
  • Palpitations
  • Hair loss
  • Fainting or feeling faint
  • Depression
  • Breathlessness
  • Twitching muscles
  • Pale yellow skin
  • Tingling, numbness, or burning sensations
  • Insomnia
  • Koilonychia (spoon-shaped nails) or nails that are weak or brittle
  • Poor appetite
  • Itchyness
    And people with Iron deficiency anemia tend to get infections easier, which happens to me a lot! It’s actually quite ridiculous. Anyways. I’m feeling positive because now there’s something for the doctors to look at, and now they can try to figure out why my body is low in red blood cells. I talked with my doctor about lots of different things and left feeling great! *sigh*Things are looking up. Thank you God.
Leave a Reply

