A follow up!

First of all, I want to say a big thanks to all of my friends who have been praying for me. I always appreciate them, and I am so grateful for you. XX

Secondly my stitches are almost gone. YAY.

My last post talked about my unfortunate ”post exertional malaise” that I experienced after stupidly deciding to try to exercise…which I haven’t been able to do in over a year and a half. I am still recovering from my workout which was a few weeks ago now…maybe 3 weeks ago? And shortly after this, all of my lovely ‘mystery’ symptoms seemed to appear again. The ‘dizzyness-and feeling-faint’ sensation got to a point where it was bugging me daily. I went to a vitamin store to try to find a herbal remedy for this because I didn’t want to miss weeks of work and I don’t know what’s causing this sensation because I haven’t found one single doctor who will take my symptoms seriously or could have an idea of what’s causing this. (Even though I think it’s myalgic encephalomyelitis, which a lot of Canadian doctors seem to doubt). So, I bought something called Vertigoheel at a naturalpathic store, took a pill and headed off to work. I remember having to leave early that day because I blacked out for a short little while at work- that was always one of my biggest fears, and it actually happened. Luckily, it wasen’t anything major. It happened when I was getting up to get ‘meds’ ready for one of the clients I was working with that day. I remember walking over to the med cabinet, and woke up in the middle of the room almost falling over not remembering why I was there or what I was doing, I looked across the room and saw my coworker, I was so embarrassed and hoped she didn’t see my conk out. I didn’t tell her that I blacked out, but I said I was feeling faint and needed to go home luckily, I have really awesome co-workers. Some other symptoms that  have come back include: nausea, headaches (especially eye headaches; cluster headaches), sore throat (my glands were swollen the past few days so I slept with a cool air humidifier), I also find that I’ve been having a hard time breathing. I feel congested and breathe heavily when I try to do simple things like….fall asleep. I’ve had excessive mucus which I’ve been coughing up which also happened to me last year when I was given antibiotics for bronchitis. I have been feeling very fatigued again and barely have had much energy to do things I need to. I find myself pushing past what I know I have the energy to do because I know I have to. (Like at work, or when I’m in a grocery store) I’m blessed because God keeps giving me the strength and energy to keep working, even though I come home with no energy left.

I’ve decided that I’m going to stop seeing doctors for the time being, and move onto naturopathic doctors to see if they will help. I know that in BC and most of Canada, CFS/ME – is still very much misunderstood and unrecognized for the horror it really is. In 2009 CFS was officially diagnosed as a neuopathic disease, and one would think this label would help more doctors become prepared to effectively deal and treat this disorder, but unfortunately it hasn’t.  I have come to realize that the most informative place to go for “invisible illnesses” is the internet rather than the doctors office. If a doctor can’t diagnose you with something or understand what you’re going through, the next thing they do….is drug you up on antidepressants and anti anxiety drugs.

Last week I went on a date with a guy in the wonderful city of Vancouver, and in no time, I realized that walking around….probably wasn’t a good idea. And me pushing through the dizziness and exhaustion probably didn’t help. The next day at work, amazingly, I was alright. But now…my left foot is having problems. I can’t walk on it right now without pain, so I’m using a cane to get around. (I have my feet soaking in a cold salt bath as I type out this blog). I’m going to treat my foot myself hoping that it isn’t anything serious. It feels like a torn muscle or ligament, so with Rest.Ice.Compression.Elevation it should be healed up in no time (If it’s just a sprain: stretched or torn muscle/ligament).I have to go back to work tomorrow, but thankfully I will be doing no lifts then! Phewf! So I can sit when I need to. 🙂 Keep praying for a sista.

Much love all.
-Ang

Leave a Reply

