Love others because Christ loved us first.

What an interesting few weeks I’ve had!

I feel like as of late God has been testing me in this area called “loving others”. Boyyyy is it tough sometimes. I am quite investigative at heart, and love to research things, but it seems that the more I study history, of the past and present, the more I become aware of the atrocious evils that humans commit. It grieves me, but it also has been making me quite mad as of recent. I sometimes wonder how on earth God continues to love a sinful kind like us humans. Because in my own fleshly tendency, I really don’t feel loving sometimes.
I have a lot of friends, most of whom aren’t Christians, and a lot of times they put down God. (And when I say God I am talking about Jehovah, Yahweh, Yeshua… Jesus the Christ. Not Allah or Buddah….capeesh?)

It’s one thing to persecute the character of Christians, but it’s another to persecute and defame the character of an almighty God. I’d rather have someone put me down all day, then hear someone take the Lord’s name in vein. It really has been bothering me lately and the attacks on God seem to be on the rise. Part of me wishes I could just make people understand the truths about God, but sadly I can only plant seeds. I could talk until I’m blue in the face and unless God himself intervenes and opens up their eyes, they will continue to stay cynical, bitter and angry at God. It’s so frustrating sometimes. I feel like I’m living in babylon and wonder what the point of speading the gospel and praying for my non-believer friends is doing. I know that sometimes we as Christians don’t get to see the fruits of our labor, and right now I’ve been wanting to throw in the towel and stop praying for my friends. I know that they are not seeking God, and the bible assures me of this because it says that noone seeks God. (Rom 3:11)

The hardest thing is to love people, when they hate YOU. When they hate the God you serve and when they are purposely being ignorant for the sake of ignorance. Maybe some of you reading this can relate, maybe some can’t. Either way, I think it’s good if we remind one another that God loved us when he didn’t have to. He loved us while we were sinners, and died for us while we were sinners. (Rom 5.8) He loved us when we mocked him and hated him. When he came here in the flesh through Jesus, he graciously loved those around him, even the very ones that nailed him to a cross by praying for them in his last moments “Father forgive them for they know not what they do…”. If people really knew who God was they wouldn’t mock him. Like those who nailed Christ to a cross, they didn’t realize who Jesus was. Most people wouldn’t snarl at the bible and wouldn’t defame his holiness if they knew how Holy God really was.

And again, this is mind boggling because God loves us so much. And because of his great love for us displayed through the subsitutionary atonement of Christ only then are we seen as righteous. It’s all through Christ…not works. And it’s all a gift. It’s grace. The love that God has for his people is unshakable and unwavering. This is the type of love that I don’t have…because I am not God. I can try, but I will always fall short. I’ll get mad when I should be patient with someone, or cut people off in traffic when im in a rush. The bottom line is, as much as I want I can’t get mad at people….if they choose to turn their ears away from truth. They only do what they know, and if they can’t recognize the truth….why would they listen to it. Only God’s soverign hand would move them to a place of willingness to hear his word.

We are all in the same boat, the only difference is some of us have accepted the gift of grace Jesus has shown us by God’s mercy. So with this, when Jesus said we should love our neighbours, I do not believe he was strictly referring to our “closest” friends and families. But in fact, those who are sometimes the hardest to love, those who belittle us, mock us or treat us in ways that we were not meant to be treated. I urge you, as well as myself to continue to pray for those who don’t know Christ and to continue to keep pressing on by speaking truth. Also, lets make a solid goal as Christians to continue to love those who have wronged us, and to forgive those who have hurt us because Christ forgave us when we violated His holiness. Sometimes it’s the love that we show to one another that reminds people that there is a God because in the midst of so much ‘bad’… there is “good” displayed. Afterall, so many atheists use the excuse that there can’t be a God with so much evil in the world. Let’s remind them that there is a God because of love.

Daniel 9:9
To the Lord our God belong mercy and forgiveness, for we have rebelled against him

Luke 23:34
And Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” And they cast lots to divide his garments.

Matthew 6:15
but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

Colossians 3:13
bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.

John 13:34
A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

John 13:35
By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

Leave a Reply

