Happy New Year….Let’s not forget to celebrate one thing.

I know everyone’s been busy with the holidays, and some of you are even busy preparing for a new years fiesta of sorts, but I want to urge you all to give thanks to God for everything he has done for you this past year, and for the care he will continue to show you in the new year. 2011….holla!!! God is so good, and sometimes we go through this holiday season forgetting the real reason to celebrate “Christmas”…
Let me state it point blank: It’s all about God. And everything should be about God getting the glory. Instead, we’ve changed everything to be about “us” and what “we” can get or…how Christmas benefit us. Why do you think Christmas is the #1 Holiday out there? It pleases our fleshly tendencies…. with greed, greed, and more greed! I urge you as believers to remember that friendship with the world is enmity with God. It’s easy to get so wrapped up in the things of this world…but lets stop for a second and think about what it would look like to not be emeshed with the world….especially on Christmas…Yes, I said it.
I know in my own life, God has brought me out of so much and sometimes I’ll think about how I used to live and it’s almost as if my brain goes into overload, because it can’t comprehend or understand how God has changed my heart so drastically. (I was like a female Pharoah…my heart was so hard and bitter..) But God continued to pursue me with such vigor… that it changed everything in an instant. It’s God who did the work in me. Not a prayer, and not a pastor “declaring” me to be saved. It says in Phillippians 1:6 that “being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ”. If God saves you… you are saved and will continually seek him out. Yes, we may fail, and mess up, but we get back up and run the race with more determination than ever! YEEEE BOIII!
If you want to know God get on your knees and cry out to him like you’ve never cried to anyone before….ask him for help. Pursue….pursue, pursue!

Anyways, I got side tracked…AGAIN!
Ahem… so, last night as I finished praying for my friends I felt this overwhelming joy. I started thinking about the magnitude of how “Holy” God is…and started thinking about how his plans are too magnificent to understand or comprehend…and how crazy it is that a sovereign God would want anything to do with me… anyways. It made me hopeful because one day I will get to see him face to face….and I can’t wait for that day!! It’s like the anticipation of waiting for a long lost love to return..
I don’t know what I’ll do. I’ll probably fall on my face before him. But here’s the thing: even though we as people are always going to remain unfaithful to him, God continually sought after us in his uncomprehendable love… it makes no sense. Because he shouldn’t love us, he should dispose of us but God showed us his great love for us in this: That while we were still sinners Christ died for us. While we were full of sin, and wickedness and hatred towards God, and evil…he died for us? He loved something unlovable and unworthy in his sight. That is God my friends. Almighty and powerful, just and full of love. In this new year, no matter what obstacles come our way, can we make a deal to honor God by keeping him in our thoughts and on our lips be seeking to know him more…through being with him. Through scripture, and prayer, and fellowship….
By continuing to praise him because his love endures forever….

Psalms 107:1
Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

Everything in this world will fail you, but God won’t leave you or forsake you.
Rejoice in that!

Much Love amigos and amigas!

Leave a Reply

