Where’s the faith in that?!

Hebrews 11:6 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

I haven’t written a note on this thing in a very long time. I’ve been thinking about a lot lately and I haven’t had much time to vent my thoughts out into this place called facebook-land. Fortunately, I write as a way of release because it helps me somehow, I know that even though nobody may read this or care…I am able to read this months/years down the road and do a sort of self-itinerary check of where I have been through different seasons in my life. I like to re-read my thoughts, see if I’ve I’ve grown and see where I still need to grow.

I heard a song for the first time, and it got me thinking about faith and what it really looks like to be a Christian. The lyrics to the song went something along the lines of:

“I love, I love, I love Your presence
I love, I love, I love Your presence
I love, I love, I love You Jesus
I love, I love, I love Your presence

And the more we see the more we love You”

I couldn’t sing a long with this song because I felt a tug on my heart. I am saved through faith. For me, faith is stepping into something I can’t see. I believe that Jesus is going to take care of me (and he has been my whole life) even though I don’t “physically” see a man standing there right beside me 24/7. You dig? I truly believe with all my heart that Jesus Christ is the son of God and that He died to pay the “fine” (if you will) for my sins so that I can now stand as righteous before God and have a relationship with Him. Without Jesus I am wretched– I am a sinner and I will always be which is why I need Jesus so desperately. If anything in me looks good it probably isn’t me. The credit and glory goes to Jesus Christ for constantly changing my mind, my actions, my speech, and even what I listen to. I am always growing so I will never be perfect but my heart wants to do whats right because I Love God. The evidence of my faith is reflected through my life, and that is why I try to live in a way that is glorifying to God. I put my trust in God, I don’t put my trust in “man”, although, I have gone through some weird experiences that helped to taint my view on certain things, but it has also helped me become the person I am today. I choose to believe what Jesus says, because it’s true. Life is never going to be easy but I know that I will always have God with me.

In the song, I noticed that “I love you Jesus” was only mentioned once throughout the song and the rest was meditations on His presence (whatever that is supposed to mean?)
I love Jesus Christ because He fought for me when no one would in my life. He died for me, when He didn’t have to. He made a way for me to appear blameless before the almighty king, and that is amazing. I suffer now, but I am going to find rest with Him in heaven forever, because HE made a way for me. I don’t need to see God do more in my life for me to love Him. I don’t need to keep asking for God to do stuff for me in order for me to love Him. Sure, sometimes it helps, but the relationship I have with Jesus is based on faith. My heart believes in something I don’t see. I have made a cognitive decision to follow Him- even if that means I loose my friends, popularity, or whatever else that means.

In the book of John The disciples were telling Thomas that Jesus was alive and that He had risen from the dead because Jesus visited them. Even Jesus himself told Thomas that he was going to rise again on the third day. Thomas doubted this because he didn’t visually see Jesus Christ again before his very eyes. Instead of trusting what Jesus said, and those who Jesus was close to, he retorted with unless I see Jesus with my own eyes I’ll believe that he’s alive. SO then, in chapter 20 Jesus comes back and visits his disciples again and this time Thomas is there:
this dialogue happens:
[John 20:28-29]
28Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”
29Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

That is faith my friends.
I think the verse: “The more we see, the more we love You” should be changed to “The less we see the more we trust you. Our assurance isn’t in signs and wonders, our assurance is in our faith in Christ because that’s how we are saved: THROUGH FAITH! The evidence comes after that! The fruit in our lives. Are we repentant? Do we realize how wretched we are? How do our lives change? That is the evidence.

Luke 11:29 :After all Jesus said that an evil generation seeks after a sign.

[And please note that I am not saying that God doesn’t speak to us and that he doesn’t do miraculous things because He does. We just need to be careful that “signs” don’t become our focus. I’m reminding us all (myself included) to check our motives. Are we focused on Jesus Christ and us seeking Him daily? Or are we still expecting God to keep “doing” and “showing” us things in order to solidify our relationship with him? If we are saved by faith through grace we should live it out. 🙂 ]

One thought on “Where’s the faith in that?!

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,

Leave a Reply

