I challenge You! The body of Christ!

I wrote this on my facebook page, but I am posting this here as I wan’t the whole world to read this.
Today at 11:27am

I challenge the church!!!
Every person that belongs to a church – you are a member of the body- and hence, this is your challenge and responsibility.

Here goes. I challenge you guys to BE a church like the one in Acts.
What do I mean by this? Well based on scripture this:
That the body is united- in one heart and one mind. The common goal for living a life like Christ shows among the body and they all make it their duty to spur each other on in whatever ways they can.
That the body will see someone with a need and not neglect it. Thats what Jesus did.
Thats also what the church in acts did… it’s not impossible. It says that they sold their posessions and goods they gave to anyone who had need. Anyone…
This dosen’t mean they looked at a person who was in need and say, “Nah, he’s going to use this money for drugs.. too bad sucka!” No They understood the importance of when Jesus said, “Whatever you neglected to do unto one of these least of these, you neglected to do unto Me!”
It dosen’t matter who is in need, but the moment we become aware of it we have a choice to make
the choice is this: To further the kingdom of God and serve others or to neglect the body of Christ and live…for yourself.
I know it’s cliche but theres a song that says, “They will know we are Christians by our love by our love” but it’s true though, how else are they going to know we are Christians? Even Jesus lived a life that was full of love. When He needed time to be alone (eg. after John the Baptist died )the crowds would often find him and instead of saying leave me alone … he met their needs rather then worrying about his own ‘alone time’.
So what am I saying? That love is a big responsibility…. Jesus ‘commands us to’ love others. Matthew 22:36-40. Jesus dosen’t say “please love your neighbours .. or you should try to, it”s a command. Love is looking after the other persons interests. When you are taking care of yourself… you wear a sweater when it’s cold out, you eat when you’re hungry… this is how you should love the body of Christ. Are they hungry? Are they without clothes? Do they need someone to talk to..?
We are supposed to be living selfless lives! Christ calls us to live in a different way no matter how hard it is. It is not the norm to live a radical life that affects change, but people will start to take notice and start to wonder why you do what you do. Thats the wonderful part, you get to tell them why you do it and thats it’s because of God. When we agreed to make Jesus Christ our Lord and Saviour… we often love the saviour bit but don’t necessairly make Jesus our Lord. If he really was our Lord, we would show it by how we live our lives. We have to remember that we need to live selfless lives. If we do this, we are able to love more because we’re not worried about what others will think, or we won’t be worried about… “Will I have enough to get that IPOD?” No, we’ll be worried about what we can GIVE.

Acts 2:42-47
They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. Everyone was filled with awe, and many wonders and miraculous signs were done by the apostles. All the believers were together and had everything in common. Selling their possessions and goods, they gave to anyone as he had need. Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.

Acts 4:32
All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had. 33With great power the apostles continued to testify to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus, and much grace was upon them all. 34There were no needy persons among them. For from time to time those who owned lands or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales 35and put it at the apostles’ feet, and it was distributed to anyone as he had need.

This is heavy, God tells us the responsibilites we have as Christians and as the body of Christ. And we must start living like Christians the way that God intended us to: Not the way we think it should be.
Remember that you can’t be wishy washy in your faith. The King himself crucified himself for you…
yet most of us can’t live for him? Rev 3:16 says “So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”
The challenge is up to you
Theres no hot or cold remember, if you want to live for God-please go out and live for him the best you can! I encourage you in this, it is so worth it.
But if you are lukewarm about living the Christian life. You need to stop and make a decision.
You either are for God or you’re not.
If you come to the conclusion that you don’t wan’t to live for God right now… then don’t.
You are giving the rest of Christians a bad name.

2 thoughts on “I challenge You! The body of Christ!

  1. I absolutely agree. .
    My husband says all the time that at work, people say to him and I quote “Christians are just a bunch of Hypocrites!” Do you know what his response is? He say’s “you are absolutely right! A lot Christians today are just bench warmers, meaning they show up for their weekly Sunday service and mingle with the others, then go on about their week not ever thinking of God or what he sacrifice for us”,. I’m amazed at how many people out there claim to be Christian and live an immoral life and act no different than the non believer.
    I had an encounter today that left me wondering what this world has come to. My sister told me that if I had the word God on my website I would not be able o sell my products through her business because it may offend her clients! I mean how ridiculous is that! I say, I love God and my family and someone gets offended???
    You know it was a test, I had a lot of pressure to take that off, but I stood my ground and respectfully declined the business she would have brought me. Do you know what happened just hours later??? She agreed with me that it shouldn’t matter. And she added my link to her website.
    Just imagine if I had taken God off of my website and gave in…I would have been denying my God! Jesus says”anyone who denies me will in turn be denied” It is going to get worse. We Christians, lovers of God need to unite and stand strong against the enemy who is trying to stumble us and take our souls.
    Anyway, I was just really pleased to see your blog on here and felt like I should let you know what it meant to me to see this here now.

    God Bless you
    And thank you for spreading his word!

    Mandy

    • Thank you very much for the comment!
      I completely agree. And good for you in doing so.
      And yes, seatwarming is becoming a new trend across North America!

      Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

