Man, we need to know the WORD

I have been flabbergasted by many things going on in this day and age at ‘Christian’ meetings/ churches specifically ones in Vancouver, and in Certain parts of the US. (Although I’m sure this is a worldwide thing)
What ever happened to discernment? It is soo important.
I mean God tells us to test the spirits… because there are many false prophets among us … so to combat this we absolutely need to know the word. Why do I say we need to know the word?
Because if someone preaches something that is not of God… or introduces some new ‘heresy’ we can look to scripture to see if things up with the word or not.
Secondly, 1 John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
The word is not just some book of rules and laws. It is the essence of God. We get to know his character through reading the word hence, we will know when something is not of Gods character.

This next thing I bring up is pretty important. We need to stop underestimating the God Given spiritual discernment many of us have via the Holy Spirit.
It could be as little as an uneasy feeling, or a thought like, “This is kind of weird”. Usually when that happens oddly enough someone will pop up to say… oh no worries… God’s just doing a new thing. But I’m telling you we can’t ignore those little nudges.
(Remember, the Holy Spirit lives inside of us for a reason, we need help)

The thing that I’ve come to find  is that us peeps who don’t go along with everything will get labeled as pharisees (which I’ve already had happen).
I’msorry… but I do not need to look up to signs and wonders to get closer to God.
I would rather glorify God… rather than the people who do these things.
Sure I’ve seen some cool things happen, and I’ve seen God work through me.
I know He works, and I believe that he still does things today.
John 14:12-13 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. 13 And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
BUT with every healing every wonder …are they immediately giving glory to God after the fact? Now a days it seems the ‘people’ get the glory and others are getting emotionally addicted to some high that never gets fufilled. (So they keep coming back for more) That is not what the purpose of signs/wonders/hearings are.
Even in bible times, when the disciples healed people they would use that as an open door to preach to the crowds about Jesus. They gave glory to God and pointed the finger upwards rather than on themselves.
It all has to be about Jesus. It’s all about Jesus.

We can’t always go along with everything because that can open up doors for other things to pop in (if they are really not of God)… because…WE’RE ALLOWING IT TOO!

2 Peter 2:1 But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them—bringing swift destruction on themselves.

Bottom line:
We need to use discernment and know the word! 1 John 4:1 Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.

2 thoughts on “Man, we need to know the WORD

  1. I agree with you. I go to my church home Monday night Bible study and we are learning about the emerging church. Well, we’re learning about a lot of things. I tell my friends sometimes I don’t understand how people can let themselves get so blinded by others, if they are actually reading the Word of God. I know that I have been guilty recently of not getting into the Word of God like I want to because people have many questions about God and if I can’t answer them because I’m not reading the Bible then that’s pitiful. I like what you said about using discernment. Many people look at their pastor as if he is God and never question his actions or behavior if they don’t line up with scriptures.

    • I hear you Brit! Thanks for your comment!
      We need to rejoice that God has lifted the veil from our eyes and continue to pray for others who are stuck in unbiblical/humanistic modes of theology.
      I used to be one of them!
      Every once in a while I get upset by the mass amount of people who are buying into this stuff, but I also realize that before Christ returns there will be a falling away of the faith first.
      It’s true though, because someone went to seminary, or is standing in front of the pulpit we assume that they are going to be sound in their doctorine..
      which unfortunately as you know, is often not the case. Spiritual abuse does happen unfortunately. So really, the more we get into the word the better we will be in learning to
      spot the counterfit. God Bless you. Gal 6:9 =]

Leave a Reply

